Forum

Questions and discussions

Template Modification

Discuss template's customization

Re: Template Modification

Postby nikonan » Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:15 am

Funmediapicture,

Thanks a lot for the very detail explanation. I've tried every step and it works!
(I've never thought that 'the easy way' I requested actually need a lot of files modification to be done :lol: )


4.) admin/Skins/Home page

Here we need a new COMPONENT. That this can work we need a new entry by Content:

admin/home/components.php and index.php


I think it should be written:
admin/home/components/index.php

Just 2 thinks left in my mind:
1. The thumb3.jpg is not captured from the center of the image. Right now it shows the 2/3 image part from the top. Quite weird but still acceptable.
2. I set the component: slideshow of featured images. But the images will only change if I refresh the page. It's fine and still acceptable but, it should be sliding, right?


After all of the file modification, I hope that this feature (home gallery) can be implement in Version 11.04.

Thank you again.
Recommendation:
Bring your photostock business to the NEXT level. Must have!
nikonan
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:06 am

Re: Template Modification

Postby arabiansoura » Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:00 am

Thanks Alfred, I will try your solution, well the issue is my site is live and I dont want to mess it, :-) is there a way to install this script in local host and test it in my computer, I have a appache server with php and mysql, will it work there. I haven't tried it though?

I need to play it safe since working on live site which we just launched would be a issue.

And once again thanks for this solution. Surely i will try this out
arabiansoura
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:32 am

Re: Template Modification

Postby funmediapicture » Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:58 am

Hello nikonan,

first thank you for your response. I have made at the moment only one demo to look
whether it is ok. The change of the other files I will make if the gallery is in the
basic ready.

That all photos are stored as thumb3.jpg we must change more files. As example in
bulk_upload I have only modified the photo_upload.php and not the vector_upload.php
or in the single upload the files ( in seller section the upload ). It's always the same.
The most work are done and we must only integrate the new photo_resize and the
new publication_watermark_add. So that in the folder is stored the thumb3.jpg


Yes you must change both files:

admin/home/components.php
admin/home/index.php


At the moment the div in the box_home_gallery.tpl has the style:

margin:0px; width: 656px; height: 276px; overflow: hidden

The photo begin is in the top left site. If you will this change you can
insert a new style information for this. The value 700 are only a demo.
You can this make smaller for you. Test it out what is the best size for
you.

I have insert in the box_home_gallery.tpl a style for the image. So you
can move the photo. As example more to the top or more to the right
site.

Here the new code ( insert style at the img tag ):

<div style="margin:0px; width: 656px; height: 276px; overflow: hidden"><a href="{URL}" id="{LINKNAME}" name="{LINKNAME}"><img style="position: relative; left: -0px; top: -50px" src="{IMAGE}" border="0" alt="{TITLE}" {LIGHTBOX} id="{IMGNAME}" name="{IMGNAME}"></a></div>

To change the position change the value: left: -50px; top: -50px;
Exmple: left: -0px; top: -100px;

Greetings
Alfred
funmediapicture
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Template Modification

Postby funmediapicture » Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:53 pm

arabiansoura wrote:Dear Alfred,
I have upgraded to the new version 11.03, since I have made many changes to template file, I'm still using the old template, but i see there are some issues after upgrade, The google map navigation is on top navigation, and its showing the normal google map, what is the use of google map?

Second i need to add home button to top navigation, how could i do this. And another major issue is formatting, why am I not able to format the text pages?????



Hello arabiansoura,

I have look in the demo from anton and I see that the google map are show, where the
photos are recorded. This info are stored in the Exif. You can this enable in Settings
under Google Coordinates. Is this are enabled you must see the fields in the upload file. If you have no Exif or database entrys you see nothing.


To add a home button make following. I can't test it.

Change made in: inc/box_categories.php

Search:

if($site_photo){$hmenu.="<li><a href='".site_root."/index.php?sphoto=1'>".word_lang("photo")."</a></li>";}

and insert over this entry:

$hmenu.="<li><a href=".site_root.">".word_lang("home")."</a></li>";

The result:

$hmenu.="<ul>";
$hmenu.="<li><a href=".site_root.">".word_lang("home")."</a></li>";
if($site_photo){$hmenu.="<li><a href='".site_root."/index.php?sphoto=1'>".word_lang("photo")."</a></li>";}

So it's on the first point.


What exactly do you mean you can not format the text pages?


Just a note. Make the categories list not too long. I can't see the whole list. I can't
scroll bottom and so i can't read all categories.

Greetings
Alfred
funmediapicture
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Template Modification

Postby funmediapicture » Sun Apr 03, 2011 2:20 pm

arabiansoura wrote:Thanks Alfred, I will try your solution, well the issue is my site is live and I dont want to mess it, :-) is there a way to install this script in local host and test it in my computer, I have a appache server with php and mysql, will it work there. I haven't tried it though?

I need to play it safe since working on live site which we just launched would be a issue.

And once again thanks for this solution. Surely i will try this out



Hello arabiansoura,

i understand this. I will also not make big changes on a live store.
I have for a long time xampp installed on my pc to test scripts. But I think it's
not the same as online.

Make a test and see what happend. A other way make a subdomain like:

myteststore.my domain.com

So you can with: http://myteststore.my domain.com access it. For this you
can make a new database and you are ready. Not forgot to customize the
database and the other datas.

Greetings
Alfred
funmediapicture
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 2:45 pm

Re: Template Modification

Postby nikonan » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:03 pm

funmediapicture wrote:Yes you must change both files:

admin/home/components.php
admin/home/index.php


Thanks for the reply. Your home gallery is just fine.

I can't find
admin/home/components.php
in the folder
There's only:
components_add, _change, _delete, index & preview.

I edited index.php only
Recommendation:
Bring your photostock business to the NEXT level. Must have!
nikonan
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:06 am

Re: Template Modification

Postby nikonan » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:16 pm

arabiansoura wrote:Thanks Alfred, I will try your solution, well the issue is my site is live and I dont want to mess it, :-)


Well arabiansoura, you should try funmediapicture Home Gallery as soon as possible. My problem solved. The image is very sharp and not expanding or blurry. The size 700px is also just nice and suitable with Template16. His latest reply about how to show not the top part of the picture but -50px also useful. The picture is not automatically refreshing, but it's fine for me.

Good luck!
Recommendation:
Bring your photostock business to the NEXT level. Must have!
nikonan
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:06 am

Re: Template Modification

Postby nikonan » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:39 pm

funmediapicture wrote:To add a home button make following. I can't test it.
Change made in: inc/box_categories.php


Wow, actually I'm looking for editing the hmenu too.
Now I moved the 'categories' to be the first tab, following by the photo, audio...

I also disabled the photographers tab and the site info tab (let's the footer shows the site info!) by commenting:

Code: Select all
/*$hmenu.="<li><a href='".site_root."/members/users_list.php'>".word_lang("photographers")."</a></li>";*/
/*$hmenu.="<li><a href='#'>".word_lang("site info")."</a><ul>".$site_info_content."</ul></li>";*/


Thanks Alfred
Recommendation:
Bring your photostock business to the NEXT level. Must have!
nikonan
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:06 am

Re: Template Modification

Postby arabiansoura » Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:34 pm

What exactly do you mean you can not format the text pages?


Well since I cant have two different contents pages in two different languages (site info and other support and faq) I thought of using in one content text page two different languages. If you see this page for example, http://www.arabiansoura.com/members/signup.php you will see it, I want Arabic to be left aligned I tried but it doesn't work, I even tried only using one language and right align, still its doesn't work, its comes to default left align, I tried to format some colors for test purpose, it didn't work. so for me clearly formatting is not working. So waiting for a fix here or by Anton.
arabiansoura
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:32 am

Re: Template Modification

Postby arabiansoura » Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:43 pm

@Alfred, thanks for the detailed explanations again, and thanks to nikonan for testing it, since I'm using latest version and still some issues are not sorted out like My Profile blank page and other minor issues, i'm waiting for this to be sorted out first and then implement this gallery, which is really one of my to do task.

Thanks for the tip to add the home link to the top navigation, it worked.

Since the support here in this forum is great i would redesign my template, make it more robust based on template 16.
arabiansoura
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:32 am

PreviousNext

Return to Design & Templates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron
  Photo Store Script

Professional php photo stock script and WordPress plug-in for photographers and video producers.

  Support
  CMSaccount Inc.