Forum

Questions and discussions

Video quality

Script's setup and configuration

Video quality

Postby df305 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:18 pm

I customized the template, made a few little changes, ready to upload video clips now. Before I do so:

Does anyone know of a way to improve the quality of the video previews generate by FFMPEG? Is there a quality setting somewhere in the scripts?

I understand higher quality will increase file size and load time significantly, but buyers might be turned off by the current previews.
Thanks for any help.
DF
df305
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby admin » Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:10 am

Do you dislike the quality of *.flv previews? or the quality of *.jpg thumbs which you see as stretched first frame in the video player?

You can change the quality of flv generation here:

file /admin/function/functions.php

function generate_flv

Code: Select all
$com=$dp->row["fpath"]." -i \"".$apath."\" -b 300k -ar 22050 -t ".$duration." -f flv -s ".$wd."x".$ht." ".$flv_path;
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby df305 » Sun Sep 18, 2011 1:04 pm

Thanks for the reply.
Just tested with the new settings - works perfect now!
df305
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby lucy » Tue Sep 20, 2011 1:10 pm

You should read about On2 compression in flv. Not every server support this technology. It gives good flv quality with small file size.
lucy
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby lucy » Tue Sep 20, 2011 1:31 pm

sorry - codec name is VP6, On2 is producer.
Big guys uses this codec in their stocks
lucy
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby df305 » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:34 am

Thanks for the info, Lucy. I will look into it!

Since you are the one that created the great trick that got rid of the black bars - do you have any idea why the script that copies files to AMAZON brings back the black bars ???

Thanks for any help on this!
DF
df305
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 1:06 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby lucy » Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:40 pm

I don't have the newest version of the script installed but I guess the flv player has wrong dimmension. And now some different line is responsible for taking flv from S3 and launching flv player. You have to find this line.
lucy
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:52 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby blissful1980 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:41 pm

admin wrote:Do you dislike the quality of *.flv previews? or the quality of *.jpg thumbs which you see as stretched first frame in the video player?

You can change the quality of flv generation here:

file /admin/function/functions.php

function generate_flv

Code: Select all
$com=$dp->row["fpath"]." -i \"".$apath."\" -b 300k -ar 22050 -t ".$duration." -f flv -s ".$wd."x".$ht." ".$flv_path;


Sorry Anton, just wondering where is the bit I have to edit for the quality? I assume its the 300k or 22050? What do they refer to?
Thanks
blissful1980
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:50 pm

Re: Video quality

Postby admin » Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:01 am

300k is video bitrate.
22050 is audio sample rate.
admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:55 pm


Return to Configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron
  Photo Store Script

Professional php photo stock script and WordPress plug-in for photographers and video producers.

  Support
  CMSaccount Inc.